Iowa PBS honored as a Lifelong Learning Leader

The Wallace Winkie Foundation recently announced the 2019 Lifelong Learner Hall of Fame inductees. Among this year’s inspiring inductees is IPTV, Iowa’s statewide public broadcasting and lifelong learning network.

For 50 years, IPTV has offered programs of lasting value to Iowans from all backgrounds, all generations and all walks of life. The network engages people of all ages with trusted services and programming that educate and inspire.

“IPTV is a partner in Iowan’s quest for community and lifelong learning,” said Molly Phillips, IPTV executive director and general manager. “We strive to provide a lens through which they may better see their world.”

IPTV’s mission reaches far beyond its broadcast channels. Thousands of Iowa educators, parents and students trust the organization for classroom-ready, curriculum-targeted, digital resources. Using research-based programs, IPTV provides schools and families with learning tools and interactive educational experiences.

The Lifelong Learner Hall of Fame was established in 2017 to honor and celebrate contributions Iowans — through example, discovery, opportunity or leadership — have made to lifelong learning and the enrichment of Iowa lives. Also being inducted into the Hall of Fame this year are Betty Andrews, President of the Iowa-Nebraska NAACP State Area Conferences of Branches; Terry Hernandez, Executive Director of Chrysalis Foundation; and Martha Quint, lawyer and longtime Kirkwood educator.

The Hall of Fame is sponsored by the Wallace Winkie Foundation and supported in part by AARP Iowa. Wallace Winkie spent his life in the pursuit of knowledge and shared that knowledge with his students, his colleagues, his family and his community through 35 years in the classroom and volunteer work. The foundation offers scholarships to nontraditional students and other lifelong learners so they may pursue their educational goals.